The Union for Ethical BioTrade is a membership-based organisation that was created in May 2007 in Geneva, Switzerland.

The General Assembly acts as the main governing body of UEBT and meets once a year to elect the Members of the Board. The General Assembly is composed of all UEBT Members. Provisional, Trading and Affiliate Members have the right to vote and elect the Board of Directors, thereby approving the management of the organization.

As of June 2017, the Union’s Board is composed of the following members:

Bas_Schneiders_Weleda Gaston_Vizcarra_IPPN Angela Pinhati
Bas Schneiders
(Board President)
Trading member
Gastón Vizcarra
(Board Vice President)
Affiliate member
Angela Pinhati
Natura Cosmetics SA
Trading member
Gustavo_Urrea_FondoBiocomercio Pierre_Charlier_de_Chily_Aldivia Eder_Ramos_Symrise
Gustavo Urrea
Fondo Biocomercio
Affiliate member
Pierre Charlier de Chily
Trading member
Eder Ramos
Symrise Aromas & Fragrâncias Ltda
Trading member
Christophe Godard OLVEA
Christophe Godard
OLVEA Burkina Faso
Trading member
Burkina Faso

The Standard Committee is composed of the following members: PhytoTrade Africa, FAN, Imaflora, FSC, The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), Native, Organic Africa and a Brazilian rubber tappers representative.

The Membership Committee, whose role is to review membership application and to recommend approval to the Board, is composed of the following members: Weleda, Aldivia, PhytoTrade Africa and IPPN.

For more information on the various committees, please check our resources page for official documents.